I Don’t Know About You, but I’m Feeling… 22!!

Isn’t 21 the birthday everyone looks forward to the most? Well, not me. I wasn’t really interested in 21. I’m not a big drinker (maybe a glass of wine with my boyfriend every now and again) so I didn’t see what the big deal was.

10553326_1727888637497865_968098248104183625_n
Honestly – I HATED this drink and had two sips. You have to do something to make 21 feeeeel like a big deal, right?
But 22?! I’ve been looking forward to it since Taylor Swift released Red, so I could honestly say “I’m feeling 22.” And to be able to sing it loudly. And proudly. And truthfully. Ha!

tumblr_msqalsj0ei1rb80svo2_500.gif

 

Do I have a love for Taylor Swift that surpasses most things I love in life? Probably.

I am so EXCITED for another birthday. To start a new age, a new year of life. To go into it knowing that in a blink of an eye life can do a complete 180, but that I have the strength to persevere on despite the hardships.

21 was a tough year. It’s made me realize I’m a lot stronger than I ever thought I was, and it also made me realize that adulting is not fun. Zero fun. Zero fun, sir. (Remember the Titans, anyone? Ha!)

I graduated college at 21. I entered adulthood for real at 21. At 21, I quickly realized how I wish I wouldn’t have hurried school and been so ready for the real world. Because it’s not fun. I miss class. I miss learning. I miss every aspect of college (ok… except the parking). I also lost my mom at 21. I still don’t feel like that’s right to say. And, I’ll never understand why someone with so much life left to live and experience had to go away this soon.

21 also had some good. I got to see Joe Jonas for the first time!!! Totally a big deal for me and my 13 year old self. 

Right in front of me, Joe J!!

A lot happened in the last 365 days, but boy am I ready for 22. It’s a reminder that life goes on, despite the heartache you feel. It’s a reminder that you have to make your own happiness, and pursue things you love. It’s a reminder that life is ever-changing, and that the darkness you’re in will turn to light eventually.

This year, I pledge to do more of what makes me happy, and let go of what makes me miserable. I’ll create a life I’m excited about living – I’ll make changes and become the best version of myself (but I wont change the amount of times I eat dessert in a year… sorry)

tumblr_mximqvW7c01sf09xwo2_500

21 was rough, and this time last year I didn’t expect it go at all like it did. I didn’t expect all the change – but I will enter 22 aware and strong – prepared to take on what life throws this way – and I will make my happiness a priority. I will also continue to try and become best friends with Taylor Swift, because priorities.

I encourage you to make a lifestyle change if you feel like you’re in a rut. You are in charge of your own happiness – go after it!

Xx,

K

 

 

 

Leave a comment