Let’s Hit the Townomnomnoms: Manara Cafe

Hey all – I’ve decided to start a new portion of this blog called “Townomnomnom” a play off of my Instagram – @korrynomnomnom – where I discuss my likes, dislikes, favorite and not so favorite things of the restaurants I eat out while out and about. Whether it be in the LBK or a different city further away, I hope you’ll find these “reviews” of sorts helpful, honest, and of course… inspiring.

Up first, Manara Cafe. I only had Greek food for the first time about two years ago, and it has CHANGED MY LIFE. It is now my favorite style of food. From the hummus to falafels to the gyro, I love it all. I was so happy when we found an authentic Greek restaurant here in town. Hidden back in a little hole-in-the-wall, it’s a place that packs so much flavor and authenticity into its four walls. From the Greek music playing over the speakers, to the decor, and the food itself… every time I go I feel like I step outside of the LBK and enter Greece for the duration of the meal. The only thing I don’t like is how long it took me to finally eat at this place. What a waste of my college years!!

photo1jpg
Photo provided by Trip Advisor

The food itself is served quickly, and it is very cheap for a meal out (boyf and I get 3 entrees and 1 appetizer and can range from ~$20-$25). The owner does everything himself – waiter, cashier, cook, making it that much better. Not many people know about this little place, making it one of our town’s hidden treasures. It has never been crowded when I’ve been, making it a nice and quiet experience to help you really soak it all in.

If I was rating this out of 10, it’d be a 20. If you’re wanting to expand your horizons, definitely give this place a try! See what I’ve ordered below!

manara.png

What I’ve ordered and LOVED:

  • The hummus, duh. With pita…. I need it now.
  • Falafel gyro
  • Lamb & beef gyro
  • Lamb & beef plate
  • Greek salad (so refreshing!!)
  • Veggie platter

Like I said, if you’re looking for a restaurant to change up your usual routine, give this a try. Let me know if you love it as much as I do!

Xx,

K

 

 

Leave a comment